107 Nigerian private universities face probe for degree racketeering

You are currently viewing 107 Nigerian private universities face probe for degree racketeering
The Federal Ministry of Education launched an investigation into degree fraud in local and foreign private universities on Tuesday, January 9. A seven-member inter-ministerial committee will conduct the probe over an eight-week period.


Minister of Education, Prof. Tahir Mamman, tasked the committee to scrutinize the involvement of any ministries, departments, or agencies (MDAs) and their officials in facilitating the acquisition and validation of fraudulent certificates.
The committee comprises of such members as Prof. Ishaq Oloyede who is the current Registrar of the Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB), Jamila Bio-Ibrahim, the Minister of Youths, and Yusuf Tuggar, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, among others.
One of the committee’s primary mandates is to assess private universities established in the last 15 years. This involves evaluating their infrastructure, management structures, financial backing for programs, and staffing (including full-time, contract, adjunct, visiting, among others).
While the National Universities Commission (NUC) routinely conducts accreditation exercises, this additional scrutiny aims to ensure adherence to specific criteria.
The investigation targets a total of 147 private universities currently operational in Nigeria, with 107 of these institutions established within the last 15 years. The 107 universities to be probed by the federal government are:
Adeleke University, Ede, Osun State; Baze University, FCT Abuja; Landmark University, Omu-Aran, Kwara State; Glorious Vision University (formerly Samuel Adegboyega University), Ogwa, Edo State; McPherson University, Seriki Sotayo, Ajebo, Ogun State; Elizade University, Ilara-Mokin, Ondo State; Southwestern University, Oku Owa, Ogun State; Evangel University, Ebonyi State; Gregory University, Uturu, Abia State; Augustine University, Ilara, Lagos State; Chrisland University, Owode, Ogun State; Christopher University, Mowe, Ogun State; Hallmark University, Ijebu-Itele, Ogun State; Kings University Ode-Omu, Osun State; Mountain Top University, Makogi/Oba, Ogun State; Rittman University, Ikot Ekpene, Akwa Ibom State; Summit University, Offa, Kwara State; Edwin Clark University, Kiagbodo, Delta State; Hezekiah University, Umudi, Imo State; Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos State; Arthur Jarvis University, Akpabuyo, Cross River State; Clifford University, Abia State; Coal City University, Enugu state; Ojaja University, Ilorin, Kwara state; Dominican University, Ibadan, Oyo State; Kola Daisi University., Ibadan, Oyo State; Legacy University, Okija, Anambra State; Spiritan University, Nneochi, Abia State; PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Port-Harcourt, Rivers State and Atiba University, Oyo, Oyo State.
Others are: Eko University of Medical Sciences, Ijanikin, Lagos; Skyline University, Nigeria, Kano, Kano State; Greenfield University, Kasarami-Kaduna, Kaduna State; Dominion University, Ibadan, Oyo State; Westland University, Iwo, Osun State; Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa-Ibom State; Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara State; Maranatha University, Lekki, Lagos State; Ave-Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa State; Al-Istigama University, Sumaila, Kano State; Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River State; Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo State; Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau State; Nok University, Kachia, Kaduna State; James Hope University, Lekki, Lagos state; Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano, Kano State; Capital City University, Kano, Kano State; Ahman Pategi University, Pategi, Kwara State; University of Offa, Offa, Kwara State; Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa State; Edusoko University, Bida, Niger State; Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja; Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa State; ANAN University, Kwall, Plateau State; Pen Resource University, Gombe, Gombe State; Al-Ansar University, Maiduguri, Borno; Margaret Lawrence University, Galilee, Delta State; Khalifa Ishiyaku Rabiu University, Kano, Kano State; Sports University, Idumuje, Ugboko, Delta State; Baba-Ahmed University, Kano, Kano State; Nigerian British University, Asa, Abia State; Peter University, Achina-Onneh, Anambra State; Newgate University, Minna, Niger State; European University of Nigeria, Abuja, FCT; Northwest University, Sokoto, Sokoto State; Rayhaan University, Kebbi State; Sam Maris University, Supare, Ondo State; Aletheia University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State; Lux Mundi University, Umuahia, Abia State and Maduka University, Ekwegbe, Enugu State.
The rest are: Peaceland University, Enugu, Enugu State; Amadeus University, Amizi, Abia State; Azman University, Kano, Kano State; Huda University, Gusau, Zamfara State; Franco British International University, Kaduna, Kaduna State; Canadian University of Nigeria, Abuja, FCT; Miva Open University, Abuja, FCT; Gerar University of Medical Sciences, Imope-ljebu, Ogun State; Hensard University, Toru-Orua, Bayelsa State; Phoenix University, Agwada, Nasarawa State; Wigwe University, Isiokpo, Rivers State; Hillside University of Science and Technology, Okemesi Ekiti, Ekiti State; University on the Niger, Umunya, Anambra State; Elrazi University of Medical Sciences, Kano, Kano State; Shanahan University, Onitsha, Anambra State; Duke Medical University, Calabar, Cross River State; Mercy Medical University, Iwara, Iwo, Osun State; Cosmopolitan University, Abuja, FCT; Iconic Open University, Sokoto, Sokoto State; West Midland Open University, Ibadan, Oyo State; Prime University, Abuja, FCT; El-Amin University, Niger State; College of Petroleum and Energy Studies, Kaduna, Kaduna State; Jewel University, Gombe, Gombe State; Nigerian University of Technology and Management, Apapa, Lagos State; Al-Muhibbah Open University, Abuja, FCT; Al-Bayan University, Kogi state.

Leave a Reply