Ohanaeze to honour past Igbo leaders

You are currently viewing Ohanaeze to honour past Igbo leaders

The Ohanaeze Ndigbo Worldwide will honour some Igbo heroes and special Igbo allies at the 2023 Igbo Day celebration which will be held at the Michael Okpara Square, Independence Layout, Enugu on September 29, 2023.

The Chairman of the Central Planning Committee for the 2023 edition of Igbo Day, Professor Fred O. Eze, informed that the event will be chaired by Prince Arthur Eze (Ozoigbondu). 

In a statement made available on Sunday by Dr. Chiedozie Alex Ogbonnia; the National Publicity Secretary, Ohanaeze Ndigbo, those that will receive the posthumous awards include Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, the first President of Nigeria; Maj. Gen. Johnson Thomas Umunnakwe Aguiyi Ironsi, the first Nigerian General and the first Nigerian Military Head of State; Chief Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu, the Head of State of Biafra; Dr. Alex. Ekwueme, the former Vice President of Nigeria; Dr. Akanu Ibiam, the former Governor of the Eastern Region; Col. Adekunle Fajuyi, the former Military Governor of the Western Region and Chief M.I. Okpara, the former Premier of the Eastern Region. 

Others include Gen. Phillip Effiong, second in command to Biafran Head of State, defunct; Chief N.U. Akpan, former Secretary of the Eastern Region; Chief Dennis Osadebe, former Premier of the Mid West of Nigeria; and Chief Sam Mbakwe, the former Governor of the Old Imo State; Dr. K. O. Mbadiwe; Professor Chinua Achebe; His Eminence, Alhaji Ado Bayero, a former Emir of Kano; Chief Adeniran Ogunsanya; Mrs. Maryam Babangida; Sen. Francis Ellah, Mazi Mbonu Ojike; Chief C. C. Onoh; Chief Mbazuluike Amechi; Chief Mrs. Margaret Ekpo; Chief Emmanuel Chinwenwo Aguma; HM Eze S. N. Woluchem; Justice Charles Dadi Onyeama and Chief Richard Ihetu (Dick Tiger).

Leave a Reply